August 28, 2015

Inductees named for Iowa Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame

The 2014 inductees into the Iowa Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame have been announced while the induction ceremony is scheduled for Labor Day weekend in northwest Iowa.

Jenna Hardy Pedersen, executive director of the Iowa Rock-n-Roll Music Association, says this will mark the 18th year of inductions into the hall and there will be plenty of fantastic live music. “We’ve got a really great line-up,” Pedersen says. “There are seven bands from all different corners of Iowa such as Spectrum 70 from Spencer, Captain Beefhart and the Shipwrecks from Des Moines and Oink Henderson and the Squealers from Iowa City.”

Others include: Instant Blues Machine from Sioux City, Tom Gilman and Ronnie Meek from Sioux City and the band Silver Laughter from Davenport. Individual musicians selected for induction into the Hall of Fame include: Michael Cutsforth of Waterloo, Mick Staebell of Waterloo, Cliff Berinobis of Waterloo, Steve Streit of Milford, Bob Saar of Burlington, Rich Webster of Des Moines, and Del “Saxman” Jones of Des Moines.

Three musicians will be honored with lifetime achievement awards, including to drummer Don Bourett of Sioux City for his long performing career. “One goes to Michael Daugherty,” she says. “He’s from Iowa. He’s a composer, he teaches, he performs, he does a lot to continue the legacy.” Also, former Beatle Paul McCartney will also be getting a lifetime achievement award, though there’s no word on whether he’ll actually attend the event. The induction ceremony will be held on August 31st at the SAMI Center in Spirit Lake.

The Induction Concert will be held that night at the Roof Garden in Arnold’s Park Amusement Park. Tickets go on sale in May. Learn more at:

(Reporting by Pat Powers, KQWC, Webster City)

Print pagePDF pageEmail page