February 9, 2016

Branstad reappoints chairman of Iowa Racing & Gaming Commission to another term

Governor Terry Branstad today announced dozens of appointments to state boards and commissions.

The governor has named 41-year-old Pete Brownell of Grinnell — the CEO of the family-owned fire arms supply company — to the Iowa Economic Development Authority.

Branstad is also re-appointing former legislator Jeff Lamberti and Carl Heinrich of Council Bluffs to the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission. Lamberti has been the commission’s chairman.

Kim Schmett, a 2008 Republican candidate for congress, has been appointed to the state Employment Appeal Board.

Former State Representative Lance Horbach, a Republican from Tama, has been appointed to the State Judicial Nominating Commission. Mike Cormack, a Republican who used to represent the Fort Dodge area in the Iowa House, has been working in the Iowa Department of Education, but Branstad is appointing Cormack to the Public Employment Relations Board. Jamie Van Fossen, a former state representative from Davenport, has been reappointed to the same board.

Former state senator John Putney of Gladbrook has been appointed to the Iowa Transportation Commission.

All the governor’s choices must win the support of 34 of the 50 members of the Iowa Senate to win confirmation to these posts.

Branstad is nominating former Iowa Newspaper Association executive Bill Monroe to the Iowa Public Information Board. Monroe has been advising Branstad on government transparency issues.

Mary Mincer-Hansen served as director of the Iowa Department of Public Health during Democratic Governor Tom Vilsack’s administration. Branstad is appointing her to the board that oversees the state program which provides subsidies to parents, for health insurance policies for their kids.

Lorraine May, a Des Moines attorney who served on the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission from 1989 to 1995 — during Branstad’s previous run as governor, has been appointed to the state board which oversees chiropractors. May was chair of the Racing and Gaming Commission from 1992 to 1994.

Print pagePDF pageEmail page