The Iowa Department of Transportation began operations this morning under a new organizational structure which officials say promises a more customer- focused agency. The D-O-T has grown from seven to eight divisions by merging several divisions and building a few new ones. The maintenance, engineering and project development divisions have been merged into a new highway division. They created the model, information technology and research management divisions.D-O-T spokeswoman Dena Gray-Fisher says the Department created the new divisions to better serve its customers and the state.Gray-Fisher says there are no firings involved in the new organizational chart, in fact, there is one new person on the D-O-T staff in the new Information Technology division.The D-O-T has renamed its former transportation centers as “districts” to provide customers with “one-stop shopping.” Those are in: Ames, Atlantic, Cedar Rapids, Fairfield, Mason City and Sioux City.