A group of northeastern Iowans has voted to raise their own taxes. Residents in seven communities in Buchanan County voted on a one-cent local option sales tax Tuesday. Six of the seven communities passed the tax which will be used for various community improvements. Those that passed the tax include: Aurora, Brandon, Lamont, Quasqueton, Rowley & Stanley. Independence and unincorporated areas of the county voted against it.