Voters in Fayette County have approved a one-percent local option sales tax to fund school improvements. Voters overwhelming approved the tax by a 78-percent margin. The tax was approved in every community in Fayette County. The tax goes into effect July 1st and will last 10 years. The tax will generate about one and a half million dollars and will be used by the Oelwein, North Fayette, Starmont, Turkey Valley, Valley Community, Postville, Fredericksburg, Sumner, Wapsie Valley and West Central.