Sixty-six Iowa schools have been labeled “Schools in Need of Assistance” by the feds because students didn’t measure up on tests. Those 66 Iowa school attendance centers are now on the list developed as a result of the “Leave No Child Behind Act.” Last year, only 11 school buildings in Iowa got that label. Once a school building is placed on the “under-performing” list, it must show gains in two consecutives years to be crossed off the list. Schools that don’t make gains will be sanctioned; they may get less federal education money. The interim director of Iowa’s Department of Education has not responded to Radio Iowa’s request for an interview. Here’s the list of “Schools in Need of Assistance” as released by the Iowa Department of Education:

Bettendorf Middle School, Boone Middle School, Burlington District, Cedar Rapids Metro High, Cedar Rapids McKinley Middle School, Cedar Rapids Taft Middle School, Cedar Rapids Wilson School, Cedar Rapids Harrison Elementary, Cedar Rapids Johnson Elementary, Clinton Washington Middle School, College Prairie High School, Council Bluffs Woodrow Wilson Junior High, Davenport Central, Davenport Kimberly Center, Davenport Wood Intermediate, Davenport Frank L. Smart Intermediate, Davenport Sudlow Intermediate, Davenport Williams Intermediate, Davenport, J.B. Young Intermediate, Davenport Buchanan Elementary, Davenport Hayes Elementary, Davenport Jefferson Elementary, Davenport Fillmore Elementary, Des Moines East High, Des Moines Hoover High, Des Moines Lincoln High, Des Moines North High, Des Moines Roosevelt High, Des Moines Scavo High, Des Moines Callanan Middle School, Des Moines Harding Middle School, Des Moines Hiatt Middle School, Des Moines Hoyt Middle School, Des Moines McCombs Middle School, Des Moines Merrill Middle School, Des Moines Edmunds Fine Arts Academy, Des Moines Moulton Elementary, Des Moines Wallace Elementary, Dubuque Central Alternative High, Dubuque Washington Junior High, Fort Dodge High, Fort Dodge Phillips Middle School, Fort Dodge Fair Oaks Middle School, Iowa City Northwest Junior High, Iowa City Southeast Junior High, Keokuk High, Keokuk Middle School, Marshalltown High, Marshalltown Woodbury Elementary, Muscatine High, Ottumwa High, Ottumwa Evans Middle School, Perry Elementary, Saydel Woodside Middle, Sioux City East High, Sioux City East Middle School, Sioux City Hunt Elementary, Southeast Polk Junior High, Storm Lake Middle School, Waterloo West High, Waterloo Bunger Middle School, Waterloo Central Middle School, Waterloo Logan Middle School, West Des Moines Valley High, West Des Moines Southwoods High (just 9th grade), West Des Moines Walnut Creek Campus.

Statewide NCLB Accountability Workbook
Assessment and Achievement Data
Teacher Quality
Persistently Dangerous Schools
2004 Report Card