Governor Tom Vilsack is asking state and federal officials to check seven more counties to see if they might qualify for drought aid. The Governor has asked the USDA and the state Farm Service Agency to look at conditions in Crawford, Dubuque, Harrison, Ida, Monona, Shelby and Woodbury counties. The drought assessments will provide the Governor and other state officials with a more detailed account of the types and amounts of crop damages sustained in those counties. The governor has already sent a letter to U.S. Ag Secretary Mike Johanns requesting a disaster designation for Cedar, Clinton, Davis, Des Moines, Henry, Iowa, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, Muscatine, Scott, Van Buren, and Washington counties due to the drought. If that request is approved, residents the counties and the counties next to them will be eligible to request low interest loans for drought assistance.