First responders to the tornado that struck the Little Sioux Scout Camp in Monona County this summer will be honored today by the Iowa Department of Public Safety. The tornado that ripped through the scout camp on June 11th killed four scouts and injured 40 other people.

Today, Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation director John Quinn will honor Monona County Sheriff Jeff Pratt with the Director’s Medallion Award. The Iowa State Patrol will also present the Chief’s Commendation Award to Sheriff Pratt. The D.C.I. director described the response by area law enforcement to the Little Sioux Scout Camp when the storm hit as "extraordinary."

Quinn said the Monona County Sheriff’s Department, the Iowa State Patrol, EMS and other emergency personnel acted swiftly to secure the area, provide care to the injured, and comfort to the families of those who died. The awards ceremony will take place at 1 o’clock at the Monona County Sheriff’s Office in Onawa.