Three more Iowa counties have been added to a July presidential disaster declaration. Boone, Calhoun and Shelby County have been added to the list, making residents in those counties eligible to register for federal individual assistance.

 Individual assistance includes grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

That brings the total of counties under the disaster declaration to 38. The deadline for individuals in all 38 counties to apply for individual assistance has been extended to November 12th.

 Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the 38 designated counties may immediately register for assistance on-line 24/7 at: or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).

The toll-free telephone numbers are available from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily. Applicants registering for aid should be prepared to provide basic information about themselves, details on insurance coverage, and any other information to help substantiate their claims.

The other counties included in the disaster declaration are: Appanoose, Black Hawk, Boone, Calhoun, Cherokee, Clayton, Decatur, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Franklin, Hamilton, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Kossuth, Lee, Lucas, Lyon, Mahaska, Marion, Monroe, O’Brien, Osceola, Polk, Ringgold, Shelby, Sioux, Story, Taylor, Union, Wapello, Warren, Webster, and Wright.