The new inductees into the Iowa Rock and Roll Hall of Fame at Arnold’s Park are being announced. Mick Butler, executive director of the musical shrine in northwest Iowa, says there are seven performing Iowa bands that will be inducted this fall.

The list includes: The Expressions from Pocahontas, Roadhouse of Sioux City, Midnite Express of Decorah, The Sheffields from Eddyville, Freedom Road of Whittemore, Tommy Eglin of Sioux City and Dartanyan Brown of Des Moines. The out-of-state headliner for the September event will be Head East, based in Illinois.

Butler says several other music-related awards will be given, including to three ballrooms: the Chicken Inn at Creston, the Coliseum in Oelwein and the TAHO Club of Spirit Lake. Receiving the coveted Dan Matousek Lifetime Achievement Award will be Ralph Lundquist of Lake Park and Tom Bethke (also known as Tom Alan) of Fort Dodge.

Butler says the ceremony and the big series of concerts will be held Labor Day weekend. The ceremony is on September 4th with a full weekend of events, shows and memorabilia. Tickets go on sale June 15th. Learn more at: “”.

By Pat Powers, KQWC, Webster City