The Federal Emergency Management Agency has granted Iowa’s request for flood aid for five of six counties along the Missouri River. Lucinda Robertson, spokesperson for the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division, says FEMA reconsidered its decision in early August to deny the aid after state officials, two weeks ago, sent an update on the amount of damage.

The move will activate FEMA’s Individual Assistance program in Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona and Pottawattamie Counties. Robertson says the program provides various types of aid to homeowners, renters and businesses. State officials, in their request for the FEMA aid, noted the flooding this summer destroyed 189 homes.

Another 161 homes sustained major damage and 416 have minor damage. Flood victims can now apply for grants or loans through the Federal Individual Assistance Program. Robertson says applicants are asked questions about their damage and insurance policies.

“Then, the FEMA folks will take it from there. They will send an inspector out to look at the home (or business) and that will help them determine what the person is eligible to receive as far as assistance goes,” Robertson said. FEMA did not provide a reason for not including Woodbury County in the program. Robertson said Woodbury County did not have the level of flood damage that the other five counties sustained through the summer.

“From what I under understand, it is a possibility that it had something to do with the amount of damage that was sustained in Woodbury County,” Robertson explained. Iowans in the five counties approved for the program, can apply by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) on online at