The Iowa Rock ‘n’ Roll Music Association Hall of Fame in Arnold’s Park has released its list of 22 inductees for this year. Connie Mueller, curator for the Rock ‘n’ Roll Museum, says the mission is to honor the legacy and preserve the history of that music in Iowa.

Mueller says, “From the Macabras in Burlington to northwest Iowa’s Chevelles, from Mike Langley in Sioux City to Molly Nova in Cedar Falls, outstanding musicians, promoters, ballrooms, radio stations and more will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on Labor Day Weekend 2012.”

Bands to be inducted include: Split Second Band and Night Flight of Des Moines, Endless Summer of Charles City/New Hampton, and The Embers from Sioux City. The popular artist, Tommy Roe, will also be inducted. Roe sang hits including, “Dizzy,” “I Think We’re Alone Now” and “Sheila.”

Mueller explained that Roe is included because someone is picked who’s usually from out of state based on how they influenced music in Iowa, how many events they played here and their impact. Roe will be a part of the induction ceremony.

Mueller says there is a specific process for those wanting to be inducted. Candidates are nominated and the board meets to consider everyone on the list and then it’s put to a vote.

The induction ceremony is set for Sunday, September 2nd at Arnold’s Park. Tickets will go on sale in June. Learn more at:

By Pat Powers, KQWC, Webster City