Four more women will be inducted into the Iowa Women’s Hall of Fame during a Des Moines ceremony today. Lori Schrader-Bachar, interim executive director of the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women, says the four women being honored serve as outstanding examples of advocates for women.

They are: educator Ruth Ann Gaines of Des Moines; Ames environmentalist Dr. Ada Hayden; Emma J. Harvat of Iowa City, believed to be the first woman mayor of a U.S. city larger than 10,000 (deceased); and Connie Wimer, a businesswoman from Des Moines. Schrader-Bachar says the four will be honored for their significant contributions to society. She says they’ll also be giving out the Christine Wilson Medal for Equality and

Justice to Marilyn Murphy of Sioux City, a longtime advocate of women and social justice issues. The induction ceremony is free and open to anyone. It’s slated for 10:30 A.M. at the Iowa State Historical Building in Des Moines. The ceremony will be followed by a luncheon that’s a fundraiser for the group Friends of the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women.

Schrader-Bachar says the annual Iowa Women’s Hall of Fame ceremony is held around this date every year as August 26th is Pay Equity Day, the day women in the U.S. got the right to vote. The 19th Amendment was passed on that date in 1920. The commission is a state agency that seeks to assure equality for Iowa women. For more information about the ceremony, call 800-558-4427.