The President today aproved a federal disaster declaration for 21 Iowa counties hit by a severe winter storm over Christmas. The declaration frees up funding for the state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the storm.

The declaration covers Adair, Audubon, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Cherokee, Clay, Crawford, Emmet, Franklin, Fremont, Guthrie, Harrison, Ida, Monona, Page, Pottawattamie, Sac, Shelby, Sioux, and Woodbury counties.