There are eight counties that received a state disaster proclamation in the wake of the winter storm last week. State Emergency Management Department spokesperson, Stefanie Bond, says these proclamations don’t involve any money. Bond says the proclamations allow the use state resources to be used to help the counties with the removal of snow.

Cedar, Dubuque, Delaware, Jackson, Jones, Johnson, Lee and Scott counties received the proclamations. Bond says most of the snow removal in those counties involves the use of D.O.T. equipment, and some need more help than others.

Bond says it depends on the counties, as some counties have more snow to clear than others. She says some counties may have already finished with the snow removal. The storm dropped over one foot of snow in many of those counties and that was compounded by high winds, which created huge snowdrifts.

Update: Clinton County has been added to the list of counties.