Governor Chet Culver today doubled the number of counties under a state disaster proclamation. He added 14 counties to the list so there are now 28 counties covered by the state disaster declarations due to storms and flooding. The counties added today are: Buena Vista, Butler, Clay, Davis, Emmet, Hamilton, Howard, Jefferson, Lee, O’Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Van Buren and Webster.

The proclamation allows state resources to be deployed to help individuals who need assistance and reside in the affected counties. Governor Culver had already issued disaster proclamations for Cherokee, Decatur, Franklin, Hancock, Mahaska, Marion, Monroe, Polk, Ringgold, Sioux, Taylor, Union, Warren and Wright counties.

The disaster proclamations authorize the implementation of the State Individual Assistance Grant Program to assist eligible residents of those counties. People impacted by recent flooding are urged to contact their county emergency management coordinators to report damages so the state is aware of the needs of each county.