Former Iowa State running back Troy Davis and former Iowa standout Tim Dwight are on the College Football Hall of Fame ballot. Davis holds nearly every rushing record at ISU and was the first player in NCAA history to rush for more than 2,000 yards in two seasons. He was a two-time Heisman Trophy finalist.

Dwight was a two-time All American for the Hawkeyes as a receiver and kick returner. Also on the ballot is former Iowa defensive end Andre Tippett. He was part of Hayden Fry’s first Rose Bowl team that won the Big Ten title in 1981.

Other players on the ballot with Iowa ties include: Northern Iowa running back Carl Boyd who was a First Team All-American in 1987 after rushing for 2,735 career yards and 1,987 receiving yards; Central College linebacker Al Dorenkamp, who captained Central to a perfect 11-0 mark and the Division III National Championship in 1974; Iowa Wesleyan punter, Mike Wiggins who was named First Team All-American in 1987 and NAIA All-America in 1986 and 1987. Named National Punting Champion for the NAIA in 1987.

The 2016 ballot includes 76 players and five coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision. The next Hall of Fame class will be announced January eighth in Scottsdale, Arizona as part of the College Football Playoff national championship weekend.