With presidential approval of the disaster designation for Iowa’s flooding and tornadoes last month, local governments can now apply for public assistance funds. FEMA’s David Teska says requests aren’t necessarily limited to counties where the damage took place. Because of this declaration, all over the state local governments can apply for a hazard mitigation grant program, to make preventive measures in the future. Teska says half a dozen counties already have put in requests for public-assistance money. FEMA’s David Teska says six counties have applied for public assistance funds: Scott, Clayton, Jackson, Lee, Louisa, and Ringgold.